A Weight Loss Dilemma: What To Do When Your Pants Don’t Fit

It was inevitable, the day would soon come when my favorite pair of jeans no longer fit. I’ll confess, I bought this pair of jeans knowing full well that they would only be worn for a short amount of time, because I was determined to change my life for the better. My old favorites soon turned into my “fat pants”, too baggy in the butt area, no longer tight at the thighs, and falling off my waist even though I had cinched my belt tightly around it. I felt sad and proud at the same time. It felt like I was finally coming to grips with saying goodbye to my former self. Like many things that are changing in my life, I am noticing more and more of the old “stuff” I have to let go to make room for the new and improved “stuff”.

So what’s a girl to do with all this “stuff”? For starters, letting go of things that no longer serve you or your purpose well is a necessity! Holding on only makes transformation harder. Constantly remind yourself of your goals, and be at peace with finding a new home for your old treasures. I find the best scenario to be what my husband and I call the “jean rental program”. A super cool second hand store in town called Plato’s Closet will give you cash or store credit for your used clothes. So what we’ve been doing is trading in our too big clothes for ones that fit with little to no cost out of pocket! It’s a win-win, out with the old, in with the “new to you”, and your old stuff has the opportunity to find a new home.

Other options for getting rid of your old stuff are numerous:

  • Donate it to charity
  • Donate it to second hand stores
  • Post about it on Facebook, see if any friends are in need
  • Repurpose old stuff into costumes
  • If it’s really special have it altered/tailored

At the end of the day I can’t wait to go get a “new” pair of jeans that fit my new body better. I don’t want to hold on to any remnant of my unhealthy self. My transformation is a constantly evolving process, and things that no longer suit me are going to be left behind. I’m on to healthier and better things, and purging my closet happens to be one step in the right direction.

With the official start of Spring being March 21st, what are your plans for “spring cleaning”? Are you holding on to things that no longer serve you or its purpose? I challenge you to get rid of those things that have been cluttering your space that you have been too afraid to part with. I promise you’ll feel so much better once you do!

Leave a Reply

