Who do we really cheat on “Cheat Days”?

Week 1 of my transformation challenge is complete, and a very strange thing happened to me this week as I have been eating clean and working out, my body has been more efficient and energized! I was so happy with the results I was seeing in this short amount of time that I made a deal with myself, that I could have a cheat day! Many diets suggest a couple of cheat meals throughout the week are not only beneficial to your mental health (let’s face it, eating broccoli for 3 meals a day 7 days straight could drive anyone mad) but is also good for the overall strategy of your diet. As I found out, there is an added benefit to cheat days, they sometimes make you feel miserable so you are excited to go back on your “dreaded diet”.

My cheat day consisted of lunch at Chipotle, which is actually a pretty healthy option if you find yourself needing to eat out. I ordered a chicken bowl with black beans, brown rice, salsa and added cheese and sour cream as my “cheat” since I’m not eating dairy. So far so good, this was the first meal I had eaten away from home all week. Next my husband and I went to the new IMAX movie theater and saw RoboCop, and since it was opening weekend they gave away a medium drink and medium popcorn to everyone. Great, I thought, since I don’t really like popcorn and I don’t drink soda, but we felt obligated to consume free movie snacks. After a few bites of popcorn and a few sips of pink lemonade, my stomach started to hurt, so I tossed the rest in the trash. My hubby however, finished the slushee he ordered and paid for it dearly after the movie. High fructose corn syrup is terrible for you, but that’s another story for a later time.

We had planned to go to Grimaldi’s after the movie, but it seemed like everyone else in the theater had the same idea, and we didn’t want to wait (even though they are worth it!). So we eventually ended up at the Olive Garden. We split the chicken and shrimp carbonara, which was rich, and flavorful. As my taste buds were enjoying the carbohydrates and cream sauce, my stomach was complaining that it was not up for the job of trying to extract nutrients from this food. So, not to go TMI on you, it was out as fast as it was in.

So why do we think that we need to reward ourselves with something bad after doing so much good? It’s akin to the skit Bill Cosby performs about alcohol. It’s attached below for your viewing pleasure. After watching the video, let me know what you think might be a better reward for all my hard work.

 

Leave a Reply

